They Are Killing Us For Being Free

A Mindful Chatterbox

I am writing this on behalf of Sandra Bland and all the other black women who have lost their lives being black and brown as they encounter police. This was hard, to put into words the way I feel… But here.

I never understood why that one scene in The Color Purple stressed me so.You know the one where an angry white mob accosts Miss Sophia before she succumbs to a gun but to the head?  When we see her again, she has been beaten almost into unrecognizable. That particular scene always made me so uncomfortable–even more so than the sexual violence and domestic abuse prominently displayed throughout the movie.

Now after watching so many black people–black women get beat up and murdered at the hands of (mostly) white officers, I get it. I get why that scene made me anxious, made me hurt so. Miss Sofia’s beating hurt me…

View original post 629 more words

Leave a Reply

